spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Dwarf planet Makemake lacks atmosphere
Posted: Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 12:45 PM ET (1745 GMT)
Makemake illustration Nov 2012 (ESO) Astronomers observing a stellar occultation by the dwarf planet Makemake found no evidence of an atmosphere around the distant, icy world. Astronomers observed the occultation using three telescopes at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile in April 2011 as the dwarf planet, about two-thirds the size of Pluto, passed in front of a distant star. The star abruptly disappeared and then reappeared, a telltale sign that there is no atmosphere around the dwarf planet. Astronomers speculate that the dwarf planet is not massive enough to hold on to an atmosphere. The observations did allow astronomers to refine the density and size of Makemake, including the fact that the world is an oblate spheroid, with axes of 1430 and 1502 kilometers.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 29
AIAA Town Hall: We Need Talent for the Vision
SpaceRef — 6:46 pm ET (2246 GMT)
SpaceShipTwo Takes Flight for First Time in Six Months
NBCNews.com — 6:42 pm ET (2242 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list