spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Sun, Nov 11, 2012, 9:51 AM ET (1451 GMT)
Ariane 5 ECA launch of Eutelsat 21B and Star One C3 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched a pair of commercial communications satellites on Saturday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from the spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:05 pm EST (2105 GMT) Saturday, one day later than planned because of high upper-level winds on Friday. The Ariane 5 placed into geosynchronous transfer orbit the Eutelsat 21B and Star One C3 satellites about a half-hour after launch. Eutelsat 21B, built by Thales Alenia Space, weighed 5,012 kilograms at launch and carries 40 Ku-band transponders. Eutelsat will operate the spacecraft at 21.5 degrees east in GEO to provide communications services for portions of Europe, Africa, and Asia. Star Once C3, built by Orbital Sciences Corporation, weighed 3,227 kilograms at launch and carries C- and Ku-band transponders. Brazilian company Star One will use the spacecraft at either 75 or 84 degrees west in GEO to provide services for South America.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 24
CU-Boulder faculty, students primed for Juno arrival at Jupiter
Univ. of Colorado — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
Hundreds flock to NewSpace 2016 conference in Seattle
KING-TV Seattle — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
House T&I Committee Dips Toe Back Into Commercial Space Launch Issues
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
Purdue Items Heading to Space
Inside Indiana Business — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list