spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chang'e-6 returns lunar farside samples to Earth
Posted: Sat, Jun 29, 2024, 1:17 PM ET (1717 GMT)
Change-6 capsule after landing (Xinhua) A capsule containing samples collected on the far side of the moon by a Chinese spacecraft has returned to Earth. The return capsule from the Chang'e-6 mission landed in Siziwang Banner, Inner Mongolia at around 2:07 am EDT (0607 GMT) Tuesday. The event was the final act of a five-spacecraft, 53-day effort to collect the first samples ever collected from the lunar far side and delivered them to Earth. The capsule contains nearly two kilograms of material that the Chang'e-6 lander collected after landing in Apollo Crater on the far side the moon early this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 23


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list