spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Globalstar selects SpaceX to launch satellites
Posted: Sat, Sep 2, 2023, 9:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)
Globalstar has selected SpaceX to launch a set of replacement satellites. The company said in a regulatory filing that it will pay SpaceX $64 million to launch the first set of satellites it ordered last year from MDA and Rocket Lab. While Globalstar did not give further details about the launch agreement, its $327 million contract with MDA covered 17 satellites for deliveries anticipated in 2025, with options for up to nine more satellites. Apple has agreed to reimburse Globalstar for 95% of the constellation, and in return Apple would use 85% of the new network's capacity to upgrade satellite services launched last year for its latest iPhone. Globalstar would use the rest of the capacity for its legacy services, including connectivity for specialized satellite phones and for connecting monitoring and tracking devices.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays Psyche launch a week
Posted: Sat, Sep 30 3:25 PM ET (1925 GMT)

Eutelsat completes acquisition of OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Sep 30 3:23 PM ET (1923 GMT)

Iran launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Sep 30 3:22 PM ET (1922 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, October 3
DLA Energy Supports Space Missions From Coast to Coast
US Dept. of Defense — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)
T-Mobile US, SpaceX may miss satellite test deadline
Mobile World Live — 5:32 am ET (0932 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list