spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


North Korean launch of reconnaissance satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jun 4, 2023, 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
A North Korean rocket failed shortly after liftoff Tuesday, plunging into the ocean with its spy satellite payload. The Chollima-1 rocket lifted off at 5:29 pm EDT (2129 GMT but apparently malfunctioned, falling into the sea 200 kilometers west of the South Korean island of Eocheong. The South Korean military recovered at least one component of the rocket, which they believed to be the interstage section between the first and second stages. The North Korean government confirmed the launch failed, blaming it on the failure of the rocket's second-stage engine. North Korea announced several days ago plans to conduct the launch to place a reconnaissance satellite into orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches Progress cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 2 9:49 AM ET (1449 GMT)

ESA sets mid-2024 date for first Ariane 6 launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 2 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)

NASA delays launch of Dragonfly mission to Titan
Posted: Sat, Dec 2 9:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 9
Space Force starts work for top US commands in Europe and Africa
Stars and Stripes — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Rocket Lab Wins Korean EO Satellite Launch Deal
ViaSatellite — 6:23 am ET (1123 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list