spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches second pair of TROPICS cubesats
Posted: Sat, May 27, 2023, 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
Electron launch of second TROPICS cubesat pair (Rocket Lab) Rocket Lab launched a second pair of NASA storm-monitoring cubesats overnight. The company's Electron rocket lifted off from Launch Complex 1 in New Zealand at 11:46 pm EDT Thursday (0346 GMT Friday) and deployed the two TROPICS cubesats into their planned orbit. The satellites join two others launched on another Electron earlier this month, forming a four-satellite constellation to track the development of tropical storms. The launch, the 37th for the Electron, took place almost exactly six years after the first Electron launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches first NASA PREFIRE cubesat
Posted: Mon, May 27 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

NASA and Boeing set June 1 launch date for Starliner
Posted: Mon, May 27 9:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, May 26 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list