spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Environmental groups suing FAA over Starship launch license
Posted: Sat, May 6, 2023, 9:44 AM ET (1344 GMT)
Starship launching on first integrated test flight, April 2023 (SpaceX) Several environmental groups are suing the FAA over its approval of SpaceX Starship launches from Texas. The groups, in a suit filed Monday in federal district court in Washington, said that the agency failed to follow environmental law and conduct a rigorous environmental review when it approved plans last year for SpaceX to conduct Starship/Super Heavy launches from Boca Chica, Texas. They want SpaceX's launch license, issued by the FAA last month, revoked, and require the FAA to perform a more detailed environmental impact statement. The suit cited damage caused by the April 20 Starship launch that scattered launch pad debris over several hundred acres and created a plume that deposited sand-like material more than 10 kilometers away.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches first NASA PREFIRE cubesat
Posted: Mon, May 27 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

NASA and Boeing set June 1 launch date for Starliner
Posted: Mon, May 27 9:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, May 26 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 28
SpaceX announces next Starship test flight date
Teslarati — 6:04 am ET (1004 GMT)
Sri Lanka To Have Talks With Spacex
MENAFN — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)
Elon Musk Dominates Space Launch. Rivals Are Calling Foul.
New York Times — 5:56 am ET (0956 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list