spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First ABL Space Systems RS1 launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jan 15, 2023, 11:25 AM ET (1625 GMT)
RS1 first launch (ABL Space Systems) ABL Space Systems suffered a failure in the first launch of its RS1 rocket Tuesday. The RS1 lifted off from Kodiak Island, Alaska, at 6:27 pm EST (2327 GMT). The company, which was not webcasting the launch, later said the rocket's nine first-stage engines shut down simultaneously shortly after liftoff, causing the rocket to fall back to the pad and explode. The launch facility was damaged, but no one was injured. RS1 is a vehicle designed to place up to 1,350 kilograms into orbit and was carrying two OmniTeq technology demonstration smallsats on its inaugural flight. The failure occurred almost exactly 24 hours after Virgin Orbit's LauncherOne failure and was the fourth launch failure worldwide in the last month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 1
SpaceX's Starlink is active in Africa for the first time
Business Insider — 7:32 am ET (1232 GMT)
Bronco Space launches PROVES satellite into orbit
Cal Poly Ponoma Poly Post — 7:28 am ET (1228 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list