spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 7, 2021, 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
An Ariane 5 launched July 30 on its first mission in nearly a year, successfully placing into orbit two communications satellites. The rocket lifted off from French Guiana at 5 pm EDT (2100 GMT) and deployed the Star One D2 and Eutelsat Quantum satellites into geostationary transfer orbits. The launch was the first for the Ariane 5 since August 2020 because of problems with the payload fairing separation system seen on that earlier launch as well as one in February 2020. The launch is the first of two before the Ariane 5 launches NASA's James Webb Space Telescope late this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 27
ULA worker suspended pending further investigation
WHNT-TV — 10:33 pm ET (0233 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list