spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8, 2021, 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
Starship SN15 launch (SpaceX) A SpaceX Starship prototype successfully completed a short test flight Wednesday. The Starship SN15 vehicle took off from the company's Boca Chica, Texas, test site at 6:24 pm EDT (2224 GMT), flying to an altitude of 10 kilometers before landing six minutes later. This vehicle survived the landing, unlike four previous prototypes that were destroyed during or shortly after landing. SN15 included what SpaceX called "multiple upgrades and improvements" to address problems found on previous test flights as well as to prepare for future orbital missions. SpaceX CEO Elon Musk acknowledged last month that Starship has been "a tough vehicle to build" as the company tries to create a vehicle that is fully and rapidly reusable.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Thursday, June 24
European Space Agency Is Wary Of Partnering With China
Aviation Week — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)

Wednesday, June 23
Space War, Like the Cold War, Is All Risk, No Reward
Air Force Magazine — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list