spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MEV-2 docks with Intelsat satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 18, 2021, 11:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
MEV-2 docking with Intelsat 10-02 (Northrop Grumman) Northrop Grumman's satellite life extension spacecraft docked with an Intelsat communications satellite Monday. Northrop's Mission Extension Vehicle (MEV) 2 docked with the Intelsat 10-02 spacecraft at 1:34 pm EDT (1734 GMT), the companies announced later that afternoon. MEV-2 will extend the life of Intelsat 10-02, launched in 2004 and running low on fuel, for five years before undocking and moving on to another satellite. The docking took place after weeks of proximity operations, and MEV-2 came close to attempting to dock several times this past month. Northrop says the success of MEV-2, and the ongoing MEV-1 mission extending the life of another Intelsat satellite, allows the company to move on to a second generation of on-orbit servicing technologies.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 12
SBIRS GEO-5 Encapsulated Ahead of Upcoming Launch
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
STPSat-6 safely arrives in Florida
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Vandenberg renaming to match Space Force designation
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list