spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Starship SN11 prototype crashes on test flight
Posted: Sat, Apr 3, 2021, 10:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)
Starship SN11 engines just before crash (SpaceX) SpaceX's latest Starship prototype launched, and crashed, Tuesday morning. The Starship SN11 vehicle lifted off from Boca Chica, Texas, at about 9 am EDT (1300 GMT) despite dense fog that made it all but impossible to see it. The vehicle flew to its planned altitude of 10 kilometers and descended back to the pad, but contact with the vehicle was lost nearly six minutes after liftoff, just as it was restarting its engines for landing. SpaceX later said that SN11 "experienced a rapid unscheduled disassembly" shortly after that landing burn started. The vehicle is the fourth Starship prototype to launch in less than four months, all of which either crashed or exploded shortly after landing. The FAA said it will oversee SpaceX's investigation into the mishap and also look into reports that debris from the vehicle was found several kilometers away, outside the exclusion zone for the flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SNC to spin off space business
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)

Astrobotic selects Falcon Heavy to launch NASA lunar rover
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

MEV-2 docks with Intelsat satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, April 20
Local Aerospace Companies Play Major Roles in NASA’s Moon Missions
Los Angeles Business Journal — 4:28 am ET (0828 GMT)
Analyst: NASA's lunar lander decision a 'major snub' to Blue Origin
Puget Sound Business Journal — 4:28 am ET (0828 GMT)
Amazon's Project Kuiper Plans Launch Of Internet Satellites With ULA
Investor's Business Daily — 4:25 am ET (0825 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list