spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Perseverance lands on Mars
Posted: Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 6:59 PM ET (2359 GMT)
Mars 2020 Perseverance rover landing illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Perseverance rover successfully landed on Mars Thursday. Signals confirming a safe touchdown of the rover in Jezero Crater, Mars, arrived at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at 3:55 pm EST (2055 GMT), indicating that the spacecraft had aced the "seven minutes of terror" of its entry, descent and landing there. The rover is in good health, project officials said shortly after landing. The $2.7 billion mission will soon start efforts to look for evidence of past Martian life, including collecting samples for later return to Earth. The rover also carries some technology demonstrations, such as a small helicopter that will be deployed for flight tests this spring.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list