spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches Mars 2020 mission for NASA
Posted: Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 6:36 PM ET (2236 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of Mars 2020 (NASA) NASA's Mars 2020 mission is on its way after a successful launch Thursday morning. The Atlas 5 carrying Mars 2020 lifted off on schedule at 7:50 am EDT (1150 GMT), releasing the spacecraft on a Mars-bound trajectory nearly an hour later. Mars 2020 will deliver the Perseverance rover on the Martian surface next February. That rover will collect samples of Martian rock for return to Earth by two later missions under development by NASA and ESA. The $2.4 billion rover carries a wide range of other science instruments as well as Ingenuity, a small helicopter that will attempt to fly in the Martian atmosphere. Mars 2020 is the last of three Mars missions to launch this year, after the Hope orbiter by the UAE and China's Tianwen-1 Mars orbiter and rover.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 29
China vs the US: what are the risks of a space rivalry?
South China Morning Post — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
OneWeb to strengthen security tie with India
The Daily Telegraph — 9:45 am ET (1445 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list