spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)
A Dragon cargo spacecraft is also en route to the ISS after a launch Thursday. A SpaceX Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 12:29 pm EST (1729 GMT) and placed the Dragon spacecraft into orbit about 10 minutes later. The Dragon, flying a mission designated CRS-19, will arrive at the station early Sunday with its payload of more than 2,600 kilograms of supplies and experiments. The Falcon 9's second stage was scheduled to perform an extended six-hour coast after deploying the Dragon to demonstrate its capabilities for other customers. The extra performance needed for that in-orbit demonstration required the first stage to burn longer, leading to a droneship landing rather than a return to the Cape.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 8
Leaf Line Expands With a New GS in Santa Maria, Azores
Leaf Space — 8:30 pm ET (0030 GMT)
Surprisingly Young Galaxy Breaks Low-Oxygen Record
Keck Observatory — 8:29 pm ET (0029 GMT)
CfA Scientists Discover Mysterious Spiral Structures around a "Planet Factory"
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics — 8:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list