spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 1, 2019, 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
A Rockot vehicle launched a small satellite for Russia's military Friday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:00 am EDT (1400 GMT) carrying the Geo-IK-2 No.13L satellite, placing it into low Earth orbit. The satellite will collect data on the Earth's gravitational field for use in refining models of it employed by missiles and other military systems. Russian military officials said the no longer plan to use the Rockot, a converted ballistic missile, although Roscosmos plans at least one more launch of the vehicle.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list