spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)
Proton launch of Spektr-RG (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a long-delayed X-ray astronomy spacecraft Saturday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 8:30 a.m. EDT (1230 GMT) and released the Spektr-RG spacecraft about two hours later. The spacecraft is bound for the Earth-Sun L-2 Lagrange point, 1.5 million kilometers from Earth, and will arrive there in three months. Spektr-RG is a joint Russian-German mission to perform X-ray astronomy, whose launch had suffered extensive delays.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 14
U.S. Space Policy: The United States Space Force
Voice of America — 10:06 am ET (1506 GMT)
Let There Be Light (but not too much)
WHYY Philadelphia — 9:35 am ET (1435 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list