spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Falcon 9 Block 5 launches Bangladeshi satellite
Posted: Sat, May 12, 2018, 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Bangabandhu-1 (SpaceX) The first Block 5 version of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for Bangladesh Friday afternoon. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Launch Complex 39A at the Kennedy Space Center at 4:12 pm EDT (2012 GMT) and deployed the Bangabandhu-1 satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit about 34 minutes later. The satellite, built by Thales Alenia Space for the government of Bangladesh, will provide C- and Ku-band services from 119.1 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the first for the Block 5 version of the Falcon 9, the latest and final major upgrade to the rocket with various improvements to increase its reliability and reusability, including being able to reuse the first stage at least 10 times and with a goal of flying two missions in 24 hours.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Maxar to sell MDA
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)

Long March 5 returns to flight
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:43 PM ET (1843 GMT)

Rockot performs final launch
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:41 PM ET (1841 GMT)

news links
Sunday, January 19
Satellite company Rocket Lab to move headquarters to Long Beach
Long Beach (CA) Post — 7:24 am ET (1224 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Has New COO, a New Ship and a Surging Stock
Bloomberg News — 7:22 am ET (1222 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list