spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fate of Zuma payload unknown after Falcon 9 launch
Posted: Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 5:39 PM ET (2239 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Zuma (SpaceX) A classified payload launched on a Falcon 9 January 7 is rumored to have been lost. The Falcon 9 lifted off at 8:00 pm EST (0100 GMT January 8) carrying a payload known only as Zuma, built by Northrop Grumman for an unidentified US government agency. While the launch was initially reported to be a success, government sources claim that the mission is feared lost because it either broke up or reentered shortly after launch on a SpaceX Falcon 9. Northrop Grumman has declined to comment on the mission, citing its classified nature. SpaceX has said the Falcon 9 performed as planned, rebutting claims it might have been responsible for the failure. The Defense Department has declined to comment on the mission as well.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches military weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 11:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

JAXA to land astronauts on Moon through NASA partnership
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Russia launches Angara from Vostochny
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, April 17
Air Force Unveils First Picks For New ‘Quick Start’ Funding Stream
Air and Space Forces Magazine — 5:38 am ET (0938 GMT)
SwRI begins work on ‘spacecraft bus’
KSAT-TV San Antonio — 5:38 am ET (0938 GMT)
Starliner capsule integrated to Atlas V rocket for launch in May
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list