spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 17, 2015, 6:23 PM ET (2223 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Apstar-9 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese communications satellite into orbit early Saturday. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:16 pm EDT Friday (1616 GMT Fridat, 12:16 am Beijing time Saturday) and placed the Apstar-9 communications satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The satellite, built by China Academy of Space Technology for Hong Kong-based APT Satellite Technology, will operate from 142 degrees east in GEO. The 5,200-kilogram satellite carries a payload of C- and Ku-band transponders, and will replace the existing Apstar-9A satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)
NASA in Alabama: No decision yet on Artemis test fire
Huntsville Times — 8:13 am ET (1313 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list