spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 17, 2015, 6:23 PM ET (2223 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Apstar-9 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese communications satellite into orbit early Saturday. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:16 pm EDT Friday (1616 GMT Fridat, 12:16 am Beijing time Saturday) and placed the Apstar-9 communications satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The satellite, built by China Academy of Space Technology for Hong Kong-based APT Satellite Technology, will operate from 142 degrees east in GEO. The 5,200-kilogram satellite carries a payload of C- and Ku-band transponders, and will replace the existing Apstar-9A satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list