spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches fourth MUOS satellite
Posted: Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of MUOS-4 (ULA) A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 successfully launched the fourth in a series of military mobile communications satellites Wednesday. The Atlas 5 551 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 6:18 am EDT (1018 GMT) Wednesday and released the MUOS-4 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit nearly three hours later. The launch had been delayed two days because of weather, and took place nearly 20 minutes late Wednesday because of a brief glitch with ground equipment. The satellite is the fourth in the Mobile User Objective System, which provides mobile communications for military forces.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list