spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two communications satellites
Posted: Fri, Aug 21, 2015, 10:57 AM ET (1457 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Eutelsat 8 West B and Intelsat 34 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 successfully launched two commercial communications satellites Thursday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:34 pm EDT (2034 GMT) and placed the Eutelsat 8 West B and Intelsat 34 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit a little more than a half-hour later. Eutelsat 8 West B, built by Thales Alenia Space for Eutelsat, weighed 5,782 kilograms at launch. It carries a payload of Ku- and C-band transponders to provide services from 8 degrees west in GEO. Intelsat 34, built by Space Systems/Loral for Intelsat, weighed 3,300 kilograms at launch. It carries a payload of C- and Ku-band transponders to provide services from 55.5 degrees west in GEO. The launch was the fourth Ariane 5 mission of 2015.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list