spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches communications, weather satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 18, 2015, 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of MSG-4 and Star One C4, July 2015 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 successfully launched a commercial communications satellite and a European weather satellite Wednesday evening. The Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 5:42 pm EDT (2142 GMT) and placed the Star One C4 and MSG-4 satellite into geostationary transfer orbits. Star One C4, built by Space Systems Loral for Brazilian company Embratel Star One, weighed 5,560 kilograms at launch and has a payload of Ku-band transponders. MSG-4, built by Thales Alenia Space for Eumetsat, weighed 2,043 kilograms at launch and will provide meteorological data from 3.4 degrees west in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list