spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launch fails
Posted: Sat, May 16, 2015, 10:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
Proton launch of Centenario, May 2015 (ILS) A Proton rocket carrying a Mexican communications satellite malfunctioned during launch, causing the satellite and upper stage to crash in Siberia. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan in schedule at 1:47 am EDT (0547 GMT, 11:47 am local time) Saturday. A statement from International Launch Services said there was an "anomaly" with the third stage 490 seconds after liftoff, and Russian media reported the upper stage and Centenario communications satellite crashed in Siberia. There was some initial confusion after the anomaly took place, with officials reporting that the launch was proceeding as planned based on telemetry that turned out not to be accurate. The Boeing-built Centenario satellite, weighing 5,300 kilograms at launch, was to be used by the Mexican government to provide L- and Ku-band communications for military and civilian users in the country.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list