spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launch fails
Posted: Sat, May 16, 2015, 10:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
Proton launch of Centenario, May 2015 (ILS) A Proton rocket carrying a Mexican communications satellite malfunctioned during launch, causing the satellite and upper stage to crash in Siberia. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan in schedule at 1:47 am EDT (0547 GMT, 11:47 am local time) Saturday. A statement from International Launch Services said there was an "anomaly" with the third stage 490 seconds after liftoff, and Russian media reported the upper stage and Centenario communications satellite crashed in Siberia. There was some initial confusion after the anomaly took place, with officials reporting that the launch was proceeding as planned based on telemetry that turned out not to be accurate. The Boeing-built Centenario satellite, weighing 5,300 kilograms at launch, was to be used by the Mexican government to provide L- and Ku-band communications for military and civilian users in the country.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SNC to spin off space business
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)

Astrobotic selects Falcon Heavy to launch NASA lunar rover
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

MEV-2 docks with Intelsat satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, April 20
Local Aerospace Companies Play Major Roles in NASA’s Moon Missions
Los Angeles Business Journal — 4:28 am ET (0828 GMT)
Analyst: NASA's lunar lander decision a 'major snub' to Blue Origin
Puget Sound Business Journal — 4:28 am ET (0828 GMT)
Amazon's Project Kuiper Plans Launch Of Internet Satellites With ULA
Investor's Business Daily — 4:25 am ET (0825 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list