spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress cargo spacecraft spins out of control after launch
Posted: Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Progress M-27M (RSC Energia) A Progress cargo spacecraft started spinning out of control shortly after its launch Tuesday, and Russian officials were increasingly pessimistic about the prospects of restoring control. A Soyuz-2.1a rocket launched the Progress M-27M spacecraft from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 3:09 am EDT (0709 GMT) Tuesday. The launch appeared to go well, but shortly after the Progress reached orbit it started to spin out of control. Efforts to restore control of the spacecraft Tuesday and early Wednesday failed, and Russian officials now suggest the spacecraft may be lost. The spacecraft was carrying more than 2,700 kilograms of cargo for the station, including some backup hardware and clothing for NASA. None of the cargo was considered essential, and NASA said there is plenty of food, water, and other consumables on the station for its six-person crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list