spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon launches communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 launch of Thales satellite (SpaceX) A Falcon 9 rocket launched a communications satellite built for Turkmenistan and Monaco on Monday evening. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 7:03 pm EDT (2303 GMT), nearly one hour late because of cloudy weather. The rocket deployed the TurkmenAlem52E/MonacoSat into geostationary transfer orbit a half-hour after launch. The 4,700-kilogram satellite, built by Thales Alenia Space, will operate at 52 degrees east in GEO. The satellite will primarily be used by the government of Turkmenistan to provide communications services, with some transponders leased to Monaco, whose GEO slot the satellite will occupy.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list