spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Sicral 2 and Thor 7, April 2015 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched two satellites on Sunday. The Ariane 5 lifted off at 4:00 pm EDT (2000 GMT) and released the Sicral 2 and Thor 7 satellites into geostationary transfer orbits a half-hour later. Sicral 2, a 4,400-kilogram satellite built by Thales Alenia Space for the militaries of France and Italy, will provide UHF and SHF communications services. The 4,600-kilogram Thor 7, built by Space Systems Loral for Telenor, will provide Ka- and Ku-band communications services from 0.8 degrees west in GEO for the Norwegian operator. The launch was originally planned for mid-April but delayed twice because of two separate technical problems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list