spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts compete first in series of spacewalks
Posted: Sun, Feb 22, 2015, 10:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2015 February 21 (NASA) Two NASA astronauts on the International Space Station successfully completed Saturday the first in a series of three spacewalks to prepare the ISS for the installation of new docking ports. Barry Wilmore and Terry Virts spent six hours and 41 minutes outside the ISS on Saturday, completing their spacewalk at 2:26 pm EST (1926 GMT). The two worked on rerouting cabling on the Harmony module and Pressurized Mating Adapter 2. That work is part of a larger effort spanning three spacewalks to prepare for the installation of new docking ports for commercial crew vehicles that will be delivered to the station later this year. The second EVA, also by Virts and Wilmore, is scheduled for Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, August 11
GPS III SV03 Receives Operational Acceptance
US Air Force — 5:59 am ET (0959 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list