spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches European communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 29, 2014, 8:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
Proton M launch of Astra 2G (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a commercial communications satellite for a European company on Sunday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 4:37 pm EST Saturday (2137 GMT Saturday, 3:37 am local time Sunday) and deployed the Astra 2G satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit a little more than nine hours later. Astra 2G is a Eurostar E3000 model satellite built by Airbus Defence and Space for SES. Weighing about 6,000 kilograms at launch, the satellite will operate from 28.2-28.5 degrees east, providing Ku- and Ka-band communications services. The satellite also carries a military communications payload for the government of Luxembourg. The launch was the eighth and final Proton launch in 2014, but only the third commercial Proton mission by International Launch Services.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Fire in the Hole: Remembering Apollo 5, OTD in 1968
AmericaSpace — 8:05 am ET (1305 GMT)
Magnetic waves explain mystery of Sun’s outer layer
University College London — 8:03 am ET (1303 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list