spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Curiosity detects methane "spikes" in Martian atmosphere
Posted: Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 8:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)
Curiosity self portrait, June 2014 (NASA) NASA's Curiosity Mars rover has detected short-lived increases in methane concentrations in the Martian atmosphere, although scientists cautioned this does not mean the methane is produced by life. An instrument on Curiosity measured two spikes in the concentration of methane in the atmosphere, ten times above usual levels; the methane concentrations decayed within months. Scientists said the methane source must be localized, but have no data on what could be causing the methane release. Methane on Mars could be produced by microbes living below the Martian surface, but also through geological processes like the interaction of minerals with water.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
SpaceX Plans to Drill for Natural Gas Near Texas Launchpad
Bloomberg News — 8:11 am ET (1311 GMT)
Fire in the Hole: Remembering Apollo 5, OTD in 1968
AmericaSpace — 8:05 am ET (1305 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list