spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches NRO satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 13, 2014, 11:01 AM ET (1601 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of NROL-35 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) Friday evening. The Atlas 5 541 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 7:19 pm PST Friday (10:19 pm EST Friday, 0319 GMT Saturday) on a mission designated NROL-35. Coverage of the mission was blacked out shortly after liftoff, but United Launch Alliance and the NRO declared the mission a success a couple hours later. NRO did not disclose the spacecraft's mission, although observers speculate it may be a signals intelligence satellite. The launch was the most powerful variant of the Atlas to launch from Vandenberg, and the first to use a new version of the RL10 upper stage engine that will eventually be used by both the Atlas and Delta vehicles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches military weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 11:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

JAXA to land astronauts on Moon through NASA partnership
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Russia launches Angara from Vostochny
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, April 17
Air Force Unveils First Picks For New ‘Quick Start’ Funding Stream
Air and Space Forces Magazine — 5:38 am ET (0938 GMT)
SwRI begins work on ‘spacecraft bus’
KSAT-TV San Antonio — 5:38 am ET (0938 GMT)
Starliner capsule integrated to Atlas V rocket for launch in May
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list