spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 11:26 AM ET (1626 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of DIRECTV-14 and GSAT-16 (Arianespace) After two days of weather-related delays, an Ariane 5 successfully launched two communications satellites on Saturday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off at 3:40 pm EST (2040 GMT) Saturday from Kourou, French Guiana, and placed the DIRECTV-14 and GSAT-16 satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits about a half-hour later. DIRECTV-14, built by SSL for American direct-to-home broadcaster DIRECTV, weighed 6,300 kilograms at launch. It will provide television programming at Ka-band frequencies from its position at 99 degrees west in GEO. GSAT-14, built and operated by the Indian space agency ISRO, weighed 3,180 kilograms at launch and carries a Ku- and C-band payload for communications services at 55 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the sixth Ariane 5 mission of 2014.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list