spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Philae spacecraft lands on comet
Posted: Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 10:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)
Philae descending to comet 67P/C-G (ESA) A European spacecraft landed on the nucleus of comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko Wednesday, but bounced at least twice before coming to a rest. The Philae spacecraft separated from the Rosetta spacecraft at 4:03 am EST (0903 GMT) and touched down on the surface of the comet's nucleus at 11:02 am EST (1602 GMT). Project officials later said that data suggested the lander's harpoons, designed to secure the lander on the surface, did not deploy. Later data indicated that the lander bounced twice, the first taking the lander up to a kilometer above the surface. Philae may be resting at an angle, or even on its side, about a kilometer from the landing site. The spacecraft is communicating with Rosetta, and has transmitted some images and other data.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 1
SpaceX's Starlink is active in Africa for the first time
Business Insider — 7:32 am ET (1232 GMT)
Bronco Space launches PROVES satellite into orbit
Cal Poly Ponoma Poly Post — 7:28 am ET (1228 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list