spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Errant boat scrubs Antares launch
Posted: Tue, Oct 28, 2014, 8:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
Antares on pad before Orb-3 launch (NASA) A boat that strayed into restricted waters forced launch controllers to scrub Monday's scheduled launch of a cargo mission to the International Space Station. A sailboat found in a restricted zone about 70 kilometers downrange from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport delayed the launch, scheduled for 6:45 pm EDT (2245 GMT) Monday; it was not able to leave the zone before the ten-minute window closed. The scrub took place after a trouble-free countdown and with good weather conditions. The launch is rescheduled for 6:22 pm EDT (2222 GMT) Tuesday, again with good weather forecast. The Antares rocket is carrying a Cygnus spacecraft loaded with more than 2,200 kilograms of cargo for the ISS. The Cygnus is scheduled to arrive at the ISS early on November 2.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list