spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches WorldView-3
Posted: Wed, Aug 13, 2014, 7:50 PM ET (2350 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of WorldView-3 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched the most powerful commercial remote sensing satellite to date on Wednesday. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 2:30 pm EDT (1830 GMT) Wednesday, releasing the 2,800-kilogram WorldView-3 satellite into a Sun-synchronous orbit. The spacecraft, built by Ball Aerospace for DigitalGlobe, will be capable of producing images with resolutions as sharp as 31 centimeters; a change in national remote sensing policy will allow the company to sell imagery that sharp, after previously setting a resolution limit of 50 centimeters. the spacecraft is also equipped with shortwave infrared sensors that can take images through smoke and haze. The launch was a rare commercial mission for the Atlas 5, which primarily serves civil and military government customers.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list