spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27, 2014, 2:56 PM ET (1856 GMT)
AFSPC-4 poster (ULA) After three successive launch scrubs due to weather, the Air Force hopes to launch three space surveillance satellites on a Delta 4 on Monday. Thunderstorms in the vicinity of the launch site at Cape Canaveral forced United Launch Alliance (ULA) to scrub attempts to launch the Delta IV Medium+ (4,2) rocket on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. An earlier launch attempt on Wednesday was postponed by a ground equipment issue. ULA is now targeting Monday at 6:43 pm EDT (2243 GMT). The mission, designed AFSPC-4, features two Geosynchronous Space Situational Awareness Program (GSSAP) satellites and one Automated Navigation and Guidance Experiment for Local Space (ANGELS) satellite. The satellites will support surveillance of other satellites and debris, particularly in geosynchronous orbit. The existence of the GSSAP program was publicly revealed by the Air Force just earlier this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list