spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches research satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 20, 2014, 1:49 PM ET (1749 GMT)
Soyuz-2 launch of Foton-M 4 (Roscosmos) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched the latest in a series of biological and materials research spacecraft early Saturday. The Soyuz-2.1a rocket launched the Foton-M 4 satellite at 4:50 pm EDT Friday (2050 GMT Friday, 2:50 am local time Saturday) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. The spacecraft, weighing 6,840 kilograms, carries a payload of plants and animals, as well as materials science experiments. The spacecraft will remain in orbit for up to 60 days before returning the experiments to Earth.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list