spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches OCO-2 spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 2, 2014, 8:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of OCO-2 (NASA) After a one-day delay, a Delta 2 rocket successfully placed a NASA Earth science satellite into orbit early Wednesday. The Delta 2 7320 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:56 am EDT (2:56 am local time, 0956 GMT) Wednesday after a problem-free countdown. The rocket's payload, the Orbiting Carbon Observatory 2 (OCO-2) satellite, separated from the Delta 2's upper stage 56 minutes after liftoff. The satellite, a replacement for the original OCO lost in a 2009 launch failure, will study carbon dioxide in the Earth's atmosphere. The launch was previously scheduled for Tuesday but scrubbed with less than a minute left in the countdown because of a problem with the water supply in the launch pad's sound suppression system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list