spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pad glitch scrubs Delta 2 launch
Posted: Tue, Jul 1, 2014, 8:43 AM ET (1243 GMT)
OCO-2 satellite illustration (NASA/JPL) An issue with a sound suppression system on the launch pad postponed an early Tuesday morning launch of a NASA climate satellite by at least 24 hours. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:56 am EDT (2:56 am local time, 0956 GMT) and place the Orbiting Carbon Observatory 2 (OCO-2) satellite into orbit. However, controllers stopped the countdown 46 seconds before launch when a water flow system designed to suppress sound during liftoff malfunctioned. Launch controllers are planning for a 24-hour delay, but will need to inspect the faulty equipment on the launch pad before making a decision on the next launch date. OCO-2, a replacement for the original OCO lost in a 2009 launch failure, will study carbon dioxide in the Earth's atmosphere.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list