spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch returns to flight with Eutelsat launch
Posted: Tue, May 27, 2014, 6:33 AM ET (1033 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch of Eutelsat 3B (Sea Launch) Commercial launch company Sea Launch performed on Monday its first mission since a launch failure over a year ago, successfully placing a European communications satellite into orbit. The Zenit-3SL rocket lifted off from the company's floating launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 5:10 pm EDT (2110 GMT) and inserted its payload, the Eutelsat 3B satellite, into geostationary transfer orbit about one hour later. The satellite, a Eurostar E3000 model by Airbus Defence and Space, weighed nearly 6,000 kilograms at launch and will be used by Eutelsat to provide C-, Ka-, and Ku-band services from 3 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the first for Sea Launch since the loss of Intelsat 27 in a launch failure in early 2013.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list