spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Sat, May 17, 2014, 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of GPS 2F-6 (ULA) A Delta 4 rocket successfully launched the latest in the current generation of Global Positioning System (GPS) navigation satellites Friday night. The Delta 4 Medium-Plus (4,2) lifted off on schedule at 8:03 pm EDT Friday (0003 GMT Saturday) carrying the GPS 2F-6 satellite. The rocket's Centaur upper stage deployed the satellite into medium Earth orbit about three and a half hours later. The launch had been scheduled for Thursday evening but was postponed by rain. The satellite is the sixth of 12 satellites built by Boeing that provide improved navigational services over their predecessors. Two more satellites in the GPS 2F series are scheduled for launch by the end of this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list