spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Vega launches Kazakh remote sensing satellite
Posted: Wed, Apr 30, 2014, 9:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
Vega launch of KazEOSat-1 (Arianespace) A Vega rocket successfully launched a remote sensing satellite for the government of Kazakhstan Tuesday night. The Vega rocket lifted off at 9:35 pm EDT Tuesday (10:35 pm local time Tuesday, 0135 GMT Wednesday) and placed the KazEOSat-1 (formerly known as DZZ-HR) satellite into Sun-synchronous orbit. The satellite, built by Airbus Defence and Space for the government of Kazakhstan, will provide imagery with resolutions of as sharp as one meter to support various civil applications. The satellite was scheduled for launch Monday night but a problem with an umbilical between the launch tower and the vehicle postponed the launch. The launch was the third for the Vega, a European rocket designed to launch smaller satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list