spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches navigational satellite
Posted: Sat, Apr 5, 2014, 12:10 PM ET (1610 GMT)
PSLV launch of IRNSS-1B launch (ISRO) A Indian rocket launched Friday the second in a series of satellites designed to provide a satellite navigational system for the region. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 7:44 am EDT (1144 GMT, 5:14 pm Indian time) Friday and placed the Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS) 1B satellite into an elliptical transfer orbit. The 1,432-kilogram IRNSS-1B will eventually go into service at 55 degrees east in GEO, broadcasting navigational signals. The spacecraft is the second of a planned series of seven satellites in geostationary and inclined geosynchronous orbits to provide navigational services for India and the surrounding region. Two more satellites are planned for launch in the second half of the year with the full system in orbit by 2016. The launch was also the 25th consecutive successful launch of the PSLV.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list