spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches US-Japan weather satellite
Posted: Fri, Feb 28, 2014, 7:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
H-2A launch of GPM (NASA) An H-2A rocket successfully launched early Friday a joint American-Japanese earth sciences satellite designed to study global precipitation patterns. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center on schedule at 1:37 pm EST Thursday (1837 GMT Thursday, 3:37 am local time Friday) and released the Global Precipitation Measurement (GPM) satellite into low Earth orbit about 16 minutes later. The GPM "core observatory" spacecraft, built at NASA Goddard with a radar instrument provided by JAXA, will map global precipitation every three hours, supporting weather forecasting and climate monitoring. The H-2A launch also placed several small secondary payloads into orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list