spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches US-Japan weather satellite
Posted: Fri, Feb 28, 2014, 7:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
H-2A launch of GPM (NASA) An H-2A rocket successfully launched early Friday a joint American-Japanese earth sciences satellite designed to study global precipitation patterns. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center on schedule at 1:37 pm EST Thursday (1837 GMT Thursday, 3:37 am local time Friday) and released the Global Precipitation Measurement (GPM) satellite into low Earth orbit about 16 minutes later. The GPM "core observatory" spacecraft, built at NASA Goddard with a radar instrument provided by JAXA, will map global precipitation every three hours, supporting weather forecasting and climate monitoring. The H-2A launch also placed several small secondary payloads into orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hyperbola-1 launch fails
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astronomers release first image of black hole in Milky Way core
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

Boeing considers Starliner valve redesign
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 17
Rocket Lab widens loss, but pipeline thickens to US$551m
New Zealand Herald — 3:57 am ET (0757 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list