spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Turksat-4A
Posted: Sat, Feb 15, 2014, 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)
Proton M launch of Turksat-4A (ILS) A Proton rocket successfully launched a Turkish communications satellite on Saturday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 4:09 pm EST Friday (2109 GMT Friday, 3:09 am local time Saturday). The rocket's Breeze M upper stage released Turksat-4A into geosynchronous transfer orbit nine hours and 13 minutes after liftoff. Turksat-4A, a DS2000-model spacecraft built by Japan's Mitsubishi Electric, weighed 4,850 kilograms at launch. The satellite will be used by Turkish satellite operator Turksat-4A to provide communications services for portions of Europe, Asia, and Africa from 42 degrees east in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list