spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches TDRS communications satellite
Posted: Fri, Jan 24, 2014, 6:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of TDRS-L (NASA/KSC) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a satellite that supports communications with the International Space Station and other NASA spacecraft. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida at 9:33 pm EST Thursday (0233 GMT Friday) and released the TDRS-L satellite into a transfer orbit nearly two hours later. The launch was delayed by almost a half-hour because of a telemetry problem with the satellite that was later resolved. The Boeing-built satellite is the twelfth in a series of Tracking and Data Relay Satellite (TDRS) spacecraft that relay communications from the ISS and other orbiting spacecraft to the ground. TDRS-L will provide Ka-, Ku-, and S-band communications from its eventual location at 49 degrees west in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1
SpaceX and NASA Might Team Up to Save the Hubble Space Telescope
The Daily Beast — 12:47 pm ET (1647 GMT)
Bold new space policy on cards
Bangkok Post — 12:46 pm ET (1646 GMT)
Opinion NASA’s asteroid-hitting mission is a call to action
Washington Post — 12:43 pm ET (1643 GMT)
NASA Will Wait Until November to Launch Artemis I
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 12:41 pm ET (1641 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list