spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rosetta comet mission awakens from hibernation
Posted: Tue, Jan 21, 2014, 6:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Rosetta spacecraft illustration (ESA) The European Space Agency's Rosetta mission contacted Earth on Monday, ending a period of hibernation that lasted more than two and a half years. Spacecraft controllers received a signal from the spacecraft at 1:18 pm EST (1818 GMT) Monday, several hours after a timer on the spacecraft turned on spacecraft systems that had been inactive for 31 months. The signal arrived nearly an hour later than the earliest possible time, causing some nervous moments in mission control, but ESA said the spacecraft is in good health. ESA launched Rosetta on 2004 on a mission to rendezvous with the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Rosetta will arrive at the vicinity of the comet in August, and deploy a small spacecraft, named Philae, to land on the comet's nucleus in November.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list